The Criminal Brilliance of Weird Al Yankovic

And my girlhood crush morphs to full-on adoration and hero worship….

image

So tacky...so criminal...so mandatory...so fun.

I’ve always had a thing for Weird Al Yankovic since my early teens. Eat It, I Lost on Jeopardy!, Amish Paradise and many others have been played ad nauseum out of my cassette player. (Yes I’m that old.) Well, Al is still active and, in the words of my new hero Vanessa Nadal, is “pulling a Hannukah Beyoncé” and releasing 8 videos from his soon to be released album, Mandatory Fun. Today’s release marries one of pop music’s most popular ditties and one of my biggest pet peeves–proper grammar and punctuation usage and online spelling abuse. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you…Word Crimes.

(All you Twitter followers can lurk on the hashtag #8videos8days to watch more hilarity unfold.)

“Weird Al” Yankovic – Word Crimes: http://youtu.be/8Gv0H-vPoDc

What are YOU thinking?

