Let A Smile Be Your Umbrella–Just Don’t Poke Yourself In The Eye With It

So I went reading my blogfriends’ posts and came across this post from my Contrary sister from another mister about yet another interesting day in the life. Bemused, I felt compelled to comfort my sister princess in her hour of dismay:

Perhaps your smile brightened his day….unless he was implying that your teeth were yellow.

Hmmm….the genteel Southern lady in me will not allow for no greeting, and a smile qualifies as such. I shall have to come up with a chart for the proper smile wattage and correspondence panic reaction to given responses. You have given me a good idea there, Girl…..

Now pass those cookies…..

After imparting that royal bit of smartassery, I come across this bit of wisdom from a friend’s FB devotional:

Micah 6:8

New International Version (NIV)

8 He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly[a] with your God.

Great. Thanks, universe, for making me take this seriously.

I’m generally polite to people and employ either the smile or the head nod, because as I said–my Southern breeding won’t allow for anything less. And yet this current climate of being trusting and friendly could get you conned and/or ripped off….which leaves one being torn between being warm and cordial and being cautiously guarded against any and everyone. I mean, I’m an equal opportunity profiler–when it comes to my purse or my person, you could be an 82-year old blue-haired granny with a walker and one leg…I’m grabbing my purse tighter and giving you the side eye until I get safely to where I’m going. But couldn’t everyone use a little bright spot in their lives as well? Sometimes a gesture, a kind word, even a smile can go a long way to brightening a dark day.

*sigh* I guess I’ll continue to lean on my Southern Belle Home Training Kit. I just hope there’s no Thin Mint crumbs in my teeth.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. CleverrealityDerek
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 14:40:58

    I thought you were going to say “Let a smile be your umbrella, but just don’t open it up inside”.

    Reply

What are YOU thinking?

