Dinner, wine AND a movie, dammit….

Soooooo…..there was an abnormal spot on my last mammogram.

A new chance to grope me....

I mentioned in an earlier blog that doctors had found a benign lump in my breast when I was 13–so the abnormal spot didn’t concern me much. But, of course, that meant going back for another round of breast mauling. This go around I got clamped in even tighter with the edges of the plates digging into my chest. At least the nurse apologized in advance this time.

But wait…that’s not all.

That round of spot compression mammography led to a round of ultrasound pics. Those I was used to since finding the lump, as I wasn’t old enough for a mammogram and that’s how they monitored Old Lumpy. And while I grateful that the gel was warm, there is something a little disconcerting about having a young woman squirt what’s essentially lube on my boob and poking around on it….unless you count getting re-lubed and poked by an old Asian woman (the radiologist felt the need to personally come look at the scan herself after I’d wiped the first set of goop off).

Anyway, while I’m glad to be proactive about my health, this round felt an awful lot like third base….and I’m gonna need jewelry if it needs to go any further than this.

I'm REALLY gonna need an incentive to go back next year....

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Jewelry AND a car….and I’m SO not kidding…. « wtpdiaries
  2. Redneckprincess
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 10:44:25

    Positive thoughts for you my friend…and ya, you deserve jewelry…for sure.

    Reply

  3. Single Malt Monkey
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 02:15:34

    Yup, prostate exams ain’t fun, either. Anyway, moving quickly on. I hope it all works out okay for you.

    Reply

  4. dramaqueen1913
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 23:31:14

    With all of the dance competitions and recitals with quick-changes and limited dressing rooms, I can deal with the nekkid part. Having a piece of plexiglass stabbing me in the chest AND squeezing the life out of my boob was the part that annoyed me–and I was expected to stand still through all of that.

    I suppose it could be worse–I could be male and getting a prostate exam….

    Reply

  5. writingfeemail
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 20:35:20

    The things they do to us in the name of health care often feels intrusive and humiliating. I wish they would invent some kind of do-it-yourself kit for a few of these things.

    Reply

  6. eyeLaugh
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 20:28:01

    oo la la, tiffany’s! 🙂

    Reply

What are YOU thinking?

