Marriage and the Wisdom of the Young

I was a late-in-life bride. Due to a lot of factors and life decisions, my first (and God-willing, only) trip down the aisle was made well after college and career goals were already achieved or reasonably solid. While I hadn’t envisioned being in my mid-30s, I did know that I at least wanted to be well across a quarter-century of life before I settled into married life. Which is why I was always mildly intrigued at couples who decided to marry young–as in anywhere below 25 down to ages beginning with a 1. Looking at my personal experience, I know I never have been emotionally mature enough to handle a relationship situation that permanent and serious. So when my nephew, at age 21, announced his engagement to his then-24 year old girlfriend, I took pause….and then nearly had a coronary after finding out the wedding was imminent–within a few months’ time. Aside from the typical “he’s still a baby to his Tee-Dee” thoughts, I kept wondering how he could possibly be so sure and so ready for such a big life decision, such a large emotional, financial and spiritual commitment? I was in about 6 years deep and I was still learning the ropes–so how could they possibly just KNOW? I still plan to ask him and my new niece one day, but I got a little light shed on the subject by Christian artist Trip Lee who wrote this blog about his decision to marry.

It is amazing to see such wisdom in one so young. And as I think on the points made, I see a lot of these characteristics in my nephew. From the little time I’ve spent with him and my new niece I see a level of maturity and teamwork that I am still longing to find for myself, and I wonder how it came about in them. How do you manage to become emotionally and spiritually secure with so few years of life experience under your belt–and conversely, I suppose, how do you manage to accumulate so many years on the calendar and still remain a babe in the woods? I am not so closed-minded as to think that I can’t learn something profound from someone half my age; it just shames me that I have to, that I’m not the one able to provide these jewels of wisdom. However, I do accept that everyone has a different skill set and different areas of expertise, and the opportunity for us to share our limitless knowledge with each other is a blessing beyond measure.

If what I’ve read and witnessed are any indication, these two couples’ lights will illuminate the world for a long time. All the best to both of you.

Mr. and Mrs. Terrence R. Williams

My hearts...what true love looks like....

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Wisdom Comes With Experience, Not Age | Moving On Up a Little Higher

What are YOU thinking?

