Building confidence, or Wisdom from Big Momma’s Chicken and Waffles

Typically, I avoid visiting Big Momma’s Chicken and Waffles Facebook page…nothing against Big Momma’s, but the mere sight and smell of those fluffy Belgian waffles and crispy fried wings immediately adds 10 pounds to my already unnecessarily expanding hips, so I visit sparingly. But the status updates show up in my feed, and I came across this one:

Bigmommas Chickenwaffles
Confidence comes not from always being right but from not fearing to be wrong…. šŸ˜‰ (Fri. 11/4, 3:36 pm)

Such unexpected profundity from Big Momma…I ventured to the page and also found these gems:

With confidence, you can reach truly amazing heights; without confidence, even the simplest accomplishments are beyond your grasp.(Fri. 11/4, 9:57 am)

Only as high as I reach can I grow, only as far as I seek can I go, only as deep as I look can I see, only as much as I dream can I be. =D (Wed 11/2, 3:58 pm)

Sage words of wisdom–definitely expected from a Big Momma, but a delightful surprise from the chicken. And the waffles, for that matter. Now I’m feeling a little torn about not picking up that 5 piece…..

Always listen to Big Momma....

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bbear
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 20:53:20

    Somehow the Wikipedia link I included doesn’t show. Here, I’ll try again:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunning%E2%80%93Kruger_effect

    Reply

  2. bbear
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 20:50:03

    On the other hand, we sure do seem to have a lot of confident idiots in high places anymore, don’t we? There’s even a name for people certain that they’re a lot more capable than they actually are: it’s called the Dunningā€“Kruger effect. Checkout

    where you’ll find the following:

    Although the Dunningā€“Kruger effect was put forward in 1999, David Dunning and Justin Kruger have quoted Charles Darwin (“Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge”) and Bertrand Russell (“One of the painful things about our time is that those who feel certainty are stupid, and those with any imagination and understanding are filled with doubt and indecision”) as authors who have recognised the phenomenon.

    Reply

  3. Megan - Best of Fates
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 15:25:14

    Good advice – and now I want some chicken!

    Reply

  4. My Inner Chick
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 11:50:11

    –Excellent words of wisdom.

    I wish we had Big Mama’s In Duluth! I’m starved… x

    Reply

    • dramaqueen1913
      Nov 06, 2011 @ 13:21:39

      Oh and they’re GOOOOOOOD, too! They have catfish too, but I have yet to try everything. When I figured out how to make a Teflon coating so the pounds just slide off when I eat, I’ll eat there a little more often. LOL

      Reply

What are YOU thinking?

