I heart The Swayzes

I fell in love with Patrick Swayze back when he was playing Orry Main on North and South. Sure, as a Southern black woman I should probably not have been swooning over the boy in the gray uniform, but it couldn’t be helped. Flash forward to this little-known (at least when I saw it) movie called Dirty Dancing and I was totally hooked. His death was nearly as heartbreaking for me as Michael Jackson’s, even though I had time to adjust and expect it despite continuously hoping for miracles. So when a Patrick moment comes along to make me smile, I pay attention.

I’ve been to the wax museums before and see the statues, particularly the celebrity likenesses (more pictorial memories That 2005 Heffa That Shall Not Be Named stole from me), but it’s never been any big to-do for me to visit or revisit when there’s a new addition. I WILL now be planning a trip to see the Patrick-as-Johnny statue balancing on the log, if for no other reason (if they let me) to get to do what Lisa Niemi got to do at the unveiling. Everybody should get to be Baby now and then…and get out of that corner.

Now if only somebody will re-air that SNL Chippendales skit with him and Chris Farley……😉

Post-script: VERY nice biography on Patrick: http://wazzasplace.blogspot.com/2009/09/patrick-swayze-nice-guygone-too-soon.html

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. angriestpear
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 08:07:52

    I love that skit in SNL! And Dirty Dancing is classic. Great post!

    Reply

  2. thoughtsappear
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 13:23:15

    I suddenly have the urge to rewatch North and South. I wonder if it’s on Netflix….

    Reply

  3. My Inner Chick
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 09:19:42

    –The Skit from SNL was a CLASSIC. I still LOVE it. Fabulous clip. Xx

    Reply

What are YOU thinking?

