Soooooo not ready for this…..

I am an Internet addict.

I admit it. The addiction has taken over my life. Fights have been started and people have gone hungry because crops died on Farmville. And I realize how ridiculous a statement that it, yet I can’t explain the draw, the connection, the HOLD being on the computer has on me. Some adjustments have to be made so I can live my life as fully as possible.

And that, I suppose, is where these guys come in. Let’s be totally clear–there is no conceivable universe in which I will fully subscribe to this whole philosophy. I WORK in television; that is 40 hours of my week, whether I like what’s in front of me or not. Also, home is the only place I have full Internet access and firewall protection, and as I have dealt with quite enough identity theft issues to last several people’s lifetimes, I am NOT trying to pay my bills on somebody’s public Wi-Fi. But I do see the wisdom in the core tenets, and had already managed to wean myself a little (or begin to) before I found this blog. I also reduced some of my at-home TV viewing (thanks in large part to ABC Daytime’s COLOSSAL misjudgment of soap fans’ loyalty), so I’m mostly in catch-up and purge mode. But I realize that I’m becoming more isolated and less involved in the outside world, and the more I tether myself to a computer, the more likely I build up my old cat lady persona for later in life.

Lord give me strength……

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Facebook 40 Fast: Diary of a Digital Junkie | wtpdiaries
  2. bloggirl12
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 16:37:23

    people need to get lifes not the computer ones

    Reply

  3. Redneckprincess
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 23:31:33

    Crap…I hear ya, me too….Walk away from the computer….

    Reply

What are YOU thinking?

